Mariano Rivera career Saves

Mariano Rivera, considered by many to be the best closer ever, set the MLB record for career saves. Use this database to explore how he did it and watch as he adds to the record.

Advanced search

clear search

Top innings pitched

View full list »

Top final outs

  • Johnny Damon 6
  • Ray Durham 6
  • Mark McLemore 6
  • B.J. Surhoff 6
  • Frank Thomas 6
View full list »

Top batters faced

  • 3 267
  • 4 182
  • 5 106
  • 6 37
  • 1 23
View full list »
Showing
of 652 records
Save day of week Month Date Year opposing team Length of save H R ER BB K IR IRS Final out Note Stadium Total pitches Batters faced
397 Friday June 30 2006 New York Mets 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Jose Reyes - Yankee Stadium (old) 11 3
419 Tuesday June 5 2007 Chicago White Sox 0.2 0 0 0 0 0 3 1 A.J. Pierzynski - U.S. Cellular Field 10 2
420 Thursday June 7 2007 Chicago White Sox 1.2 1 0 0 0 2 1 1 Juan Uribe - U.S. Cellular Field 17 6
421 Tuesday June 12 2007 Arizona Diamondbacks 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Chris Snyder - Yankee Stadium (old) 13 3
422 Friday June 22 2007 San Francisco Giants 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 Ray Durham - AT&T Park 20 6
424 Friday June 29 2007 Oakland A's 1.1 0 0 0 0 3 2 0 Bobby Crosby - Yankee Stadium (old) 18 5
426 Saturday July 14 2007 Tampa Bay Rays 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 Akinori Iwamura - Tropicana Field 19 4
427 Sunday July 15 2007 Tampa Bay Rays 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 Carlos Pena - Tropicana Field 17 4
428 Monday July 16 2007 Toronto Blue Jays 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 Aaron Hill - Yankee Stadium (old) 14 4
429 Wednesday July 18 2007 Toronto Blue Jays 1.2 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 Frank Thomas - Yankee Stadium (old) 21 5
430 Sunday August 5 2007 Kansas City Royals 1.1 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 Mark Teahen - Yankee Stadium (old) 11 4
431 Monday August 6 2007 Toronto Blue Jays 1.0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 Frank Thomas - Rogers Centre 16 3
433 Saturday August 18 2007 Detroit Tigers 1.0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 Gary Sheffield - Yankee Stadium (old) 14 4
434 Tuesday August 28 2007 Boston Red Sox 1.0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 Julio Lugo - Yankee Stadium (old) 14 3
435 Wednesday August 29 2007 Boston Red Sox 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 Dustin Pedroia - Yankee Stadium (old) 14 4
436 Saturday September 1 2007 Tampa Bay Rays 1.1 0 0 0 0 3 1 0 Akinori Iwamura - Yankee Stadium (old) 18 4
437 Friday September 7 2007 Kansas City Royals 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Mark Grudzielanek - Kauffman Stadium 7 3
438 Sunday September 9 2007 Kansas City Royals 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 John Buck - Kauffman Stadium 13 4
418 Sunday June 3 2007 Boston Red Sox 1.0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 Mike Lowell - Fenway Park 24 4
417 Wednesday May 30 2007 Toronto Blue Jays 1.1 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 Frank Thomas - Rogers Centre 13 4
416 Thursday May 3 2007 Texas Rangers 1.0 2 0 0 0 1 0 0 Kenny Lofton - Rangers Ballpark 14 4
398 Friday July 7 2006 Tampa Bay Rays 1.0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 Aubrey Huff - Tropicana Field 12 3
400 Sunday July 16 2006 Chicago White Sox 2.0 1 0 0 1 1 0 0 Jermaine Dye - Yankee Stadium (old) 26 6
401 Monday July 17 2006 Seattle Mariners 1.0 2 0 0 0 2 0 0 Willie Bloomquist - Yankee Stadium (old) 17 5
402 Saturday July 22 2006 Toronto Blue Jays 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Reed Johnson - Rogers Centre 7 3
403 Tuesday July 25 2006 Texas Rangers 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 Ian Kinsler - Ameriquest Field 17 4
404 Wednesday July 26 2006 Texas Rangers 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 Michael Young - Ameriquest Field 13 4
405 Sunday July 30 2006 Tampa Bay Rays 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 Damon Hollins - Yankee Stadium (old) 14 4
406 Friday August 4 2006 Baltimore Orioles 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 Ramon Hernandez - Camden Yards 18 3
407 Sunday August 6 2006 Baltimore Orioles 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 Melvin Mora - Camden Yards 13 4
408 Wednesday August 9 2006 Chicago White Sox 1.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 Tadahito Iguchi (Force out) U.S. Cellular Field 26 6
409 Saturday August 12 2006 Los Angeles Angels 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Howie Kendrick - Yankee Stadium (old) 10 3
410 Tuesday August 15 2006 Baltimore Orioles 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 Chris Gomez - Yankee Stadium (old) 24 4
411 Wednesday August 30 2006 Detroit Tigers 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 Ivan Rodriguez - Yankee Stadium (old) 14 4
412 Thursday August 31 2006 Detroit Tigers 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 Brandon Inge - Yankee Stadium (old) 19 4
413 Friday September 22 2006 Tampa Bay Rays 1.0 1 0 0 0 3 0 0 B.J. Upton - Tropicana Field 21 5
414 Saturday April 28 2007 Boston Red Sox 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 Kevin Youkilis - Yankee Stadium (old) 16 4
415 Thursday May 3 2007 Texas Rangers 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Michael Young - Rangers Ballpark 11 3
439 Wednesday September 12 2007 Toronto Blue Jays 1.1 1 0 0 0 1 2 0 Russ Adams - Rogers Centre 19 5
440 Friday September 14 2007 Boston Red Sox 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 Jacoby Ellsbury - Fenway Park 13 4
462 Wednesday June 18 2008 San Diego Padres 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 Edgar Gonzalez - Yankee Stadium (old) 11 3
463 Thursday June 19 2008 San Diego Padres 1.0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 Michael Barrett - Yankee Stadium (old) 16 3
464 Sunday June 22 2008 Cincinnati Reds 1.1 2 0 0 0 1 1 0 Norris Hopper - Yankee Stadium (old) 30 6
465 Saturday June 28 2008 New York Mets 1.0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 Trot Nixon - Shea Stadium 12 3
467 Sunday July 20 2008 Oakland A's 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 Rajai Davis - Yankee Stadium (old) 11 3
468 Wednesday July 23 2008 Minnesota Twins 0.1 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 Jason Kubel - Yankee Stadium (old) 4 1
469 Friday July 25 2008 Boston Red Sox 1.2 1 0 0 0 3 2 0 J.D. Drew - Fenway Park 26 6
470 Wednesday August 6 2008 Texas Rangers 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 Chris Davis - Rangers Ballpark 15 4
471 Thursday August 7 2008 Texas Rangers 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Brandon Boggs - Rangers Ballpark 8 3
472 Friday August 22 2008 Baltimore Orioles 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 Jay Payton - Camden Yards 15 4
Showing
of 652 records

advertisement | advertise on Newsday

advertisement | advertise on Newsday